Filming with George Clooney and interviewed by Jeremy Vine

I spoke to my brother the other day, on the phone.

It was on the new smartphone mobile. I know how to answer it at last – but it’s still proving way too clever for me. On the first day of our holiday I managed to delete all my contacts. Doh!

It entailed a week of trying to work out, ‘Through the Keyhole’ style: “Who’d send me a message, like this?” To add to the farce, I pressed another wrong digit and set my home town to Chihuahua, Mexico, where – in case you ever need to know – they’re eight hours behind Spain.

My brother – he’s younger and smarter than me – chuckled when I told him and called me a “muppet”. I think he’s got a point.

We caught up on family stuff, then moved on to talk about work and life generally.

“So how’s the blog going?” he asked.

“Yeah, pretty good,” I replied. “I had more than a hundred hits in one day on my Palma Marathon write-up. And I’ve got quite a few followers from around the world now. It would be great if I could turn it into an actual book sometime, or the basis for a book.”

“So once you’ve written the book, who’s going to play you in the film,” he teased. “That’s one you can ask people down the pub – which actress could best be ‘you’?”

I thought for a moment. “Tell you what,” I said. “I’ll play myself. And George Clooney can play the part of John.”

We both laughed, caught up on a bit more family news and said cheerio.

Later I spotted an online challenge to write a 50,000 word novel in a month and if you’re lucky, have it published.

I went to bed that night trying to think up a storyline, how I could cram in writing more than 1,600 words a day for 30 days, win the competition, make the film, with George Clooney, of course, and then finally – ultimately, be interviewed by BBC Radio 2’s Jeremy Vine about the whole experience.

In my head the interview goes like this. Jeremy: “So Jo, let me get this straight – you gave up your job as a journalist to run 50 marathons. You started a blog about that, your struggle with OCD and how useless you are with gadgets. You wrote an award-winning novel and you’ve just made a film about it all with George Clooney. How does it feel to be sitting here now?”

Me: “Jeremy, I’m living the dream!”

However, back in the real world I’ve been busy organising a Halloween fair and fun run – the spare bedroom looks like Dracula’s Castle, with all the bits still waiting to be packed away – the dog had to go to the vets, the car had to go to the garage, I had to go for physio after straining a muscle in my arm, there’s a pile of ironing waiting to be done, and the house could really do with a good clean.

Filming with George Clooney versus vets, broken car and housework? Hmmm, tough choice.

You have to keep your feet on the ground, but it’s fun to let your mind drift up in to the clouds sometimes.

One thought on “Filming with George Clooney and interviewed by Jeremy Vine

  1. Rosemary Bishop

    We can all dream which is good,but I think being a generation older than you it would have to be Yule Bryner or Telly Savalas for me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

