I’m an Author!

Jo Earlam with Tuamor booksThis feels a momentous day – one of those you want to run through the street, whooping and hollering.

So excited that my first book is officially published today, a children’s story “Tuamor the Turtle”.

I’ve had my words and by-line in print many times as a journalist.

But it doesn’t match the thrill of creating something from nothing and seeing it through to publication, a bookshop shelf, and the best bit of all, children reading and enjoying it.

Coincidentally, this is my 100th blog post and it happens to be six months to the day that I completed my 50th marathon, which was three days after my 50th birthday.

Having had a paid career for 25 years before deciding, in my mid 40s, to choose my own pathway in life, it’s rewarding to have achieved these things through self-belief and perseverance.

It’s been tough at times, and with my OCD – which is still a big issue for me – sometimes the doubts are overwhelming.

But this is where I am here and now – and it feels pretty good.

I wish my little turtle the best of luck. He’s been in my head for two years, now he’s out there in the ocean – I’m hoping he’s a good swimmer.

You can find out more about him on his website http://www.tuamortheturtle.com and also follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/tuamortheturtle

Thanks for reading my blog and to everyone who’s helped me to believe in myself.

 

 

One thought on “I’m an Author!

Leave a Reply

