Ninety-nine is Mighty Fine

Back in 2005, the year I did my first marathon, I was walking on the South West Coast Path when a group of runners appeared and flew down the steep muddy steps at a fast pace, calling out as they went “have you seen other runners go this way?”

“Yes!” I just had time to shout back… “what race are you doing?”

“The Exe to Axe, from Exmouth to Seaton,” came the reply.

Knowing the terrain and distance between these two Jurassic coast towns, I couldn’t believe people would contemplate taking on that route in one day, let alone running it.

I thought of this on Sunday as I set off from Exmouth to Seaton, via the River Otter to make the distance 26.2 miles, for the inaugaral Sweetcombe Scramble Marathon and my 99th.

I still don’t know how I went from basically passive observer to marathon participant, but there’ve been many miles and adventures along the way to reach this point. And it was such a great feeling to be running my penultimate marathon of the 100 along familiar coastal trails, with close friends in an event put on by my own Sidmouth Running Club and knowing many of the fabulous marshals and volunteers who made it happen.

Huge thanks to our chairman Terry Bewes, race director David Lee, and chief administrator Rob Edwards for their hard work in putting on a fantastic event, and the many others who helped, especially Alexa and Kyle Baker.

The marathon and its long-time 22 mile version JP’s Exe to Axe were part of a whole weekend of events put on by Sidmouth Running Club to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the South West Coast Path, and also included people canoeing, cycling, walking, and children’s races.

The club is known as the Mighty Greens and they all did Mighty Well this weekend, with many club members taking part in some way.

It was a terrific way to celebrate the golden year of this great natural asset, 630 miles from Minehead via Land’s End to South Haven Point, which I walked in one go 25 years ago and have walked and run in sections many times since.

I’ve chosen the coast path as the spot for my 100th marathon too, it will be the Exe Estuary Marathon, put on by Winding Paths, on Sunday 16th July.

So a few months to go before I get the famous 100 Marathon Club blue T-shirt.

Until then being a Mighty Green on 99 is mighty fine.

With great running friends Leeann and Jane

2 thoughts on “Ninety-nine is Mighty Fine

Leave a comment