Running Ripple Rewards

With less than a week to go to my 100th marathon, it’s a good time to stop and think about the rewards running has brought into my life and others.

From the moment I entered the London Marathon in 2005 there’s been a huge ripple effect bringing many fantastic experiences, meeting wonderful people, and one of the things I’m most proud of an enduring legacy of fundraising and fun through the creation of a community race in my home village.

After entering London I realised I needed some extra training help, so I joined the Women’s Running Network, Exeter group, which was run by Network founders Pauline Beare and Peg Wiseman. They were a great inspiration in how to complete the marathon distance and in putting on events. It was their shorter distance running challenges that gave me the idea for a one off fundraising race for the 40th anniversary of our village playing field.

I remember when I pitched the idea someone querying why anyone would pay to run down the river, when they could do it for nothing as it was a public footpath. I had my doubts too as to how many entries we’d get and how on earth you put on a race, but Pauline and Peg were great mentors and helped me get it off the ground.

That was back in 2007, and 16 years later the Otter Rail and River Run is still going strong, having taken place every year, apart from 2020 Lockdown. It’s become an important fundraiser for the community owned volunteer run playing field, now bringing in a quarter of its annual maintenance income.

But the ripples are measured in much more than money. At this weekend’s run there were runners who’ve taken part from the start, those doing it as their first ever race, and those who’ve returned year after year once they discover it, including three campers all from different parts of the country who pitch their tents by the riverside and have an annual social catch-up.

A Magnificent Mighty Green turnout by my home club Sidmouth Running Club

Volunteers put this event on, since 2019 led by Jemma Wiltshire, as race director, and Mo Mylne co-ordinating the magnificent team of marshals and helpers – as the medics helping on the day said: “What a fantastic community event.”

It’s fantastic too to see the smiling faces of the children in the fun run, delighted with their shiny medal and their squiggly jelly snake. The faces of runners in the 10km crossing the line are always a mixture of fatigue and delight, 233 crossed the line this year in times from varying from 35:39 to 01:35:34 and all ages, including Marion, from Sidmouth Running Club, who celebrated her 75th birthday by running the route with her family. Next year she’s doing her first marathon, London, how fantastic is that!

Which brings the running ripples back full circle from grassroots 10kms like Tipton to the big city marathons and other running events which take place across the country, and around the world, and which bring thousands of people together, sometimes running for just sheer enjoyment or is it endurement, and also those raising combined millions of pounds for charities.

My marathon journey has taken me all around the UK, to different parts of the world, that I might never have visited. It’s seen me collapsed on the floor from physical and mental exhaustion and punching the air on an endorphin rush high.

I’m amazed to be on the verge of running my 100th, humbled by the encouragement and support of family and friends, and by the donations that have come in, including £80 raised at Saturday’s 10km, thank you, and thanks to everyone who has donated through my sponsor page for dementia, the Samaritans and the coast path – all causes connected to my marathon journey and the ripples of my life.

1 thought on “Running Ripple Rewards

Leave a comment