The Snagged T-shirt

It’s just over a week since I completed my 100th marathon, woo-hoo!

It was a fantastic, memorable day, running friends joining me on a choice of three different distances, friends and family coming to watch on route and at the finish, and then a very happy afternoon tea party get together back in our garden.

The pictures tell it better than I can. Here we are at the start and on the route, the Mighty Greens out in force…

We stopped several times to chat, then just over 6 hours, 22 minutes later, the end was in sight, me dancing the last few steps and hugging John at the finish line.

Then celebrations all round.

And back to ours for afternoon tea and a scrumptious cake, made by my very talentend niece Jo of Cake Me Away

Freddie, our lurcher loved it too, looking out for left-overs on people’s plates, putting his head in the clotted cream dish (oops!), and sitting on my fab new gift cushion long before I did.

It was the first time too that I got to wear my splendid new 100 Marathon Club T-shirt, something that has taken 18 years to chalk up the required 2,620 miles to have the right to wear and which for the last couple of months has been lying safely wrapped in a bag, only being taken out once to have my name printed on it.

I proudly put it on after crossing the line.

Less than 48 hours later I was gutted when I snagged it on some velcro, as I was lifting John’s walking frame into the car, leaving a series of pulled lines all across the front.

My beautiful T-shirt, no longer in mint condition, no longer perfect.

I thought briefly of sending off for a replacement, a pristine new one, without the snags. But then it wouldn’t be the T-shirt I’d worn on the day, the one I’d excitedly taken to the printers a few weeks ago, and what would I do with the snagged one if I replaced it with new?

There’s a Japanese philosophy wabi-sabi that’s about accepting imperfection, valuing the marks of wear of and tear from use. In China and Japan they also practice kintsugi, drawing attention to the cracks in an object by mending and then highlighting the repair with gold paint.

It certainly seems a better answer than a throwaway society that in seeking perfection, simply ends up with lots of broken unwanted, unloved things.

A friend said, as we discussed the subject of antiques in mint condition being worth more than those that had been used, how sad to see toys that have never been out of a box, never played with and loved.

It’s been an amazing journey to reach 100 marathons, but I’m so glad I ventured out of my comfort zone to do it, despite the falls and bumps on the way, the imperfect moments.

I loved my T-shirt when it was perfect, I love it still, and I will wear it with pride snags and all.

With thanks to all who’ve supported me throughout my marathon journey, and especially for the 100th, and the sponsorship and donations for my three chosen causes Exeter Dementia Action Alliance, The Samaritans, and the South West Coast Path – I’m delighted to have surpassed my £780 target, and to have raised £1,051.20.

4 thoughts on “The Snagged T-shirt

Leave a comment