Fundraising is a team effort

I had the honour and privilege recently to be invited to be a guest on the South West Coast Path Association podcast to celebrate its 50 years.

This is the link to the recording… https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/southwestcoastpath/episodes/Making-A-Difference-e2bu3oe?fbclid=IwAR2T4wv79B1dQipTXakh8Llq1oSsE9cO7YXQu6PNVqEmDaj2_TY8kyklT2o

Listening to it tonight with John, my husband, who lives with dementia, I was struck not by what I said, but by what I didn’t say.

For instance I didn’t say that when I walked the entire coast path in 1998 John drove to wherever I was every weekend to bring me clean clothes and take my smelly pile of dirty laundry home to wash.

I didn’t say that my Dad carried my heavy bag several times on that 1998 walk, or that he drove a camper van as back up support when I walked around Devon in 2003.

Those two walks raised £20,000. Without John and Dad I don’t know how they would have been possible.

I didn’t say that when Dad was diagnosed with dementia and I embarked on a marathon fundraising challenge, which raised £6,500 for dementia research charity BRACE, that my regular running friend Jane literally held me up many times when I was on my knees, nor that without Jane and other running friends Helen, Becky, Claire, I’m not sure how I would have reached my 50th marathon goal 8 weeks after Dad died.

Dad, friend Pam and John 2003 walk

I didn’t properly say that it’s the amazing support of many friends from Sidmouth Running Club that have helped keep me going since John was diagnosed with dementia in 2017 and without whom I would not have reached my 100th marathon this July.

They’re the same friends who’ve kindly supported my fundraising with donations over the years. And my many non running friends and family too, who’ve sent messages of encouragement, donations, shared social media links, come to cheer me on.

John doesn’t remember much these days about things we’ve done. But listening to the podcast tonight he did remember, as we talked afterwards, about doing my laundry all those years ago.

Three things that are truly unforgettable:

That as a fundraiser you rely entirely on those who support your fundraising.

The South West Coast Path

Smelly washing

With thanks to each and every person who’s helped me in my fundraising efforts over the years ❤ (NB: doing my washing is not a compulsory part of supporting any future fundraising activities I may choose)

Leave a comment